

MEDIA RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE PUBLICATION

Awardees at 2010/2011 Allen Prize for Young Writers Awards

PORT-OF-SPAIN, May 7, 2011:

JUNIOR CATEGORY

<u>Finalists</u> Cavan Byrne Michelle Chan Wah Michael Phillip Joshua Sammy Kalifa Lovelace Harold Raghunandan Aleah Joseph

Fiction winner:

Krystoff Kissoon \$500

Poetry winner:

Giselle Permell \$500

THERE WERE NO WINNERS IN JUNIOR DRAMA OR CREATIVE NON-FICTION.

Junior Writer of the Year Krystoff Kissoon \$1500

SENIOR CATEGORY

<u>Finalists</u> Simone Delzin Shanice Hercules Warren G De Mills Kevonn Morgan Precious St Clair

Board of Directors:

Lisa Allen-Agostini (Chairman), Peter Gomez (Secretary/Treasurer), Rhoda Bharath, Charlotte Elias, Nicholas Laughlin, Georgia Popplewell, Anthony Smart, Ex-officio: Gina Ottley (legal counsel) Reon Elder Maria Reverand Aamy Roopnarine Anastasia Toppin

Fiction winner: Anabelle Castagne \$1000

Creative non-fiction winner: Veronika Kratz \$1000

Poetry: Senior Mariella Rivas \$1000

Drama: Amrita Annamunthodo *\$1000*

Young Writer of the Year Anabelle Castagne \$2500

For more information go to <u>http://allenprize.org</u>.

Media inquiries: Lisa Allen-Agostini Phone: 868 753 6220 Email: info@allenprize.org